Select regional store:
ITIL 2011 Continual Service Improvement

ITIL 2011 Continual Service Improvement

SKU: 3426
Authors: Stationery Office
Publishers: TSO
Format: Softcover
ISBN13: 9780113313082
ISBN10: 011331308X
Pages: 246
Published: 29 Jul 2011
Availability: In Stock
Format: Adobe eBook
ISBN13: 9780113313143
ISBN10: 0113313144
Pages: 246
Published: 23 Aug 2011
Availability: Immediate Download
One of the core five ITIL® publications, providing authoritative and comprehensive guidance for ITSM professionals and those studying for the ITIL® Service Strategy (CSI) exam.
Price: $110.00


The latest ITIL® 2011 Continual Service Improvement guidance

ITIL® provides guidance on the provision of quality IT services, and on the processes needed to support them. The purpose of the CSI stage of the lifecycle is to align IT services with changing business needs by identifying and implementing improvements to IT services that support business processes.

Video presentation

ITIL® 2011 Continual Service Improvement provides guidance in four main areas:

  • The overall health of ITSM as a discipline
  • The continual alignment of the service portfolio with the current and future business needs
  • The maturity and capability of the organisation, management, processes and people utilised by the services
  • Continual improvement of all assets that support them.

Summary of updates

The concepts in ITIL® 2011 have been updated for clarity and consistency, without affecting the overall message, ensuring every stage of the service lifecycle remains focused on the business case, and relates to all the companion process elements that follow. ITIL® 2011 is fully aligned with MSP®, M_o_R®, PRINCE2® and P3O®.

  • The seven-step improvement process and its relationship with the Deming Plan-Do-Check-Act cycle and knowledge management has been clarified.
  • The CSI model has been renamed the CSI approach and the concept of a CSI register has been introduced as a place to record details of all improvement initiatives within an organisation.
  • Minor changes have been made throughout the book to clarify the meaning and to improve readability.
  • Particular emphasis has been made on documenting the interfaces from CSI to other lifecycle stages.

It is recommended that ITIL® 2011 Continual Service Improvement is used in conjunction with the other core ITIL® publications.

Click to expand full contents »

List of figures
List of tables
1. Introduction
2. Service management as a practice
3. Continual service improvement principles
4. Continual service improvement processes
5. Continual service improvement methods and techniques
6. Organizing for continual service improvement
7. Technology considerations
8. Implementing continual service improvement
9. Challenges, risks and critical success factors
Appendix A: Related guidance
Appendix B: Example of a continual service improvement register
Appendix C: Risk assessment and management
Appendix D: Examples of inputs and outputs across the service lifecycle
References and further reading
Abbreviations and glossary

ITIL® 2011 Continual Service Improvement is also available as part of the ITIL® Lifecycle Publication Suite, a more cost-effective way of buying all five core ITIL® 2011 Manuals.

You can also buy ITIL® 2011 Continual Service Improvement as an online subscription or as a multiuser licence.


Customer Reviews

(0# of Ratings:)
This website uses cookies. View our cookie policy